Monday, January 30, 2012

[News and Notes] Vampire of the Century Award

To commemorate the 100th anniversary of the death of Bram Stoker, author of Dracula, the Horror Writers Association has announced the nominees of the Bram Stoker Vampire Novel of the Century Award.

About the selection process and criteria: "A jury composed of writers and scholars selected, from a field of more than 35 preliminary nominees, the six vampire novels that they believe have had the greatest impact on the horror genre since publication of Draculain 1897." -from the website

The nominees are:

The Soft Whisper of the Dead (1983) by Charles L. Grant

Salem’s Lot (1975) by Stephen King

I Am Legend (1954) by Richard Matheson

Anno Dracula (1992) by Kim Newman

Interview with the Vampire (1976) by Anne Rice

Hotel Transylvania (1978) by Chelsea Quinn Yarbro

The winner will be announced at the World Horror Convention on March 31, 2012 in Salt Lake City. More details can be found at


Comments: Post a Comment

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?